Comparing

10 Jul
                                                                        

 

I think as humans, particularly as women, it is natural to compare. As babies we watch others and copy what they do, comparing our technique and searching for ques and approval of our actions. At a young age it’s a way of learning, comparing how well we copy letters onto a paper to the ones on a chalk board, move our feet in a dance lesson to match the instructor, or making our bed so it looks just like mom and dads. However, as we age we begin to run into trouble when we start comparing things such as our body, hair, workout or eating routine to others. I believe the biggest issue with this type of comparison is that often we do not have the whole story. We compare our bodies to others without knowing their family history, their health status, or other circumstances. We view others workout schedules and begin to compare without understanding of their previous training, how they worked up to this point, their sleep schedule, their food intake, or what their life looks like outside of just training. We look at someone’s food consumption maybe for one week, one day, or even one meal and begin to make comparisons to our own. Yet we often fail  to factor in what they may have eaten earlier that day, what their health status is, how they train or don’t train, their genetics, or even if they may have just come back from an overly indulgent vacation. No instead we just begin to compare them to ourselves.

I think making comparisons is natural, often we do it without thinking or realizing we are doing it. I believe sometimes making comparisons can even be helpful. However, as I grow into myself more each day I am learning that the best comparisons I can make are of me to my old self. Looking at how I have made improvements from last month to this month and tracking progress has proven much more rewarding than comparing how much faster or slower I may be running then the person across the street, or balancing my diet in a healthful way for me opposed to looking at a body builders diet online of pure protein and beginning to compare. Because really how can I even make a comparison there, we have such different goals. So while it’s not easy, I am working on it. Working to stop comparing things that are not comparable. I would never compare a banana to a pea so why am I comparing myself to others I do not know!

Source: via Bob on Pinterest

Question?

Do you catch yourself comparing yourself to others?

What do you most often compare about your life to others?

4 Responses to “Comparing”

  1. Miranda @ Miranda's Munchies July 10, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    I think comparison is a really important topic for women because we are so bombarded with comparisons all day long, many of which are in the media and are quite ridiculous, such as: “this celebrity had a baby and is super skinny 6 weeks later… what’s your excuse?” And there are also comparisons that we make with about our peers too. I think you’re right that on some levels it’s an evolutionary advantage, but for the sake of out sanity, we need to cut it out as adults! I’ve been working on this, and of course I’m not perfect, but I have been trying to stop comparing myself to others. Because you are absolutely right, we are all so different! I do compare myself now to what I was like in the past, but even that can become a bit obsessive! But I think natural progress and improvement is good and not something to be shunned! At least, Jane Austen would agree 🙂

    • aenoser July 10, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

      You are absolutely right, media takes comparisons to a whole other level! It is insane the expectations that people place on themselves and others, and can even be dangerous! Props to you for working on not comparing yourself to others and being aware of what comparisons you make with your former self because as you said even that can get obsessive.

  2. Kate July 11, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    SUch good points here and this is SUCH an important issue!! I know I personally struggle with comparison A LOT, and it really and truly can make me miserable. And you’re right, when I compare myself to other women, I’m never thinking about how much I know about them, and it really is important. You don’t know anyone’s genetics, their health status, how they work out, what else they eat, and how they think of themselves. Maybe you see a super-skinny girl and instantly feel bad about yourself, but you never know, maybe she’s looking at you wishing she had your curves/muscles/boobs/whatever! I do like the self-comparison idea. That way, if you don’t like your current self compared to your past self, you know that you CAN actually change things in a healthy way to really become YOUR best self, rather than just wishing you were taller/skinnier/curvier/could eat more/whatever.

  3. Kailey July 13, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

    LOVE THIS POST! I’ll admit that my roommate and I do this way too much, but then we both realize that our lifestyles are totally different despite the fact that we both love healthy foods and are the same height. We have different needs & different genes.

Leave a Reply

