A lesson from the boys

24 Jul

 

 

‘Diet’ such a cliché  word.  Some read it and see/ think restriction, others low carb or fat, and still others may see boring.  I am trying to move away from all these perceptions.  I have been working on building a better mindset for myself these last few months, so from now on when I see or think of the word ‘diet’ I am going to say the word ‘balance’ out loud.  Ultimately, balance is a word I want to be able to use to describe all aspects of my life but for now I am going to continue to work on diet.

 

Honestly, food and I have a love hate relationship.  In the sense that I love food, I love baking, eating, and enjoying meals with friends, but also I can be obsessive over it.  Thinking about how much I should/should not be consuming, when I should be consuming it, and what is the quality of the foods I am eating.  Now in a balanced lifestyle these are necessary things to consider, but honestly sometimes I find these thoughts consume me and as of now I am just over it.  Over thinking about numbers, amounts, times, and all the rest of it, so here is what I have been doing to work on it.

 

As I mentioned before I am currently visiting my boyfriend in the lovely state of Tennessee and have been living with him for the last month and a half, meaning we eat almost all our meals together.  For me this has been more than a blessing. Honestly, all women should take a lesson from men in the eating department.  What I have observed is that he does a few things that I personally fail at 98% of the time…

  1. He eats only when he is hungry (this means that if he had a big dinner he doesn’t eat dessert or if its lunch time but he ate a late breakfast he waits until he is hungry) Well lets get one thing straight, I never, ever skip dessert. In fact I live for dessert, I would skip dinner before skipping dessert and in all honesty when I worked that high stress job, I did this probably 3-4 times a week, terrible but true!  So again while skipping dessert is NOT something that is going to happen maybe if I am truly full I can just scale it down in size, otherwise I am working on eating only when I am hungry
  2. He eats what he is craving. He never asks me to go light on the cheese or to hold the olive oil.  He eats what he likes and then is done with it.  Again so simple, but sometimes I find I will scale back on things because I don’t want to have too much sugar, fat, or calories but in return this usually backfires and I am searching for something else to eat an hour later.  So, goal number two, eat what your craving
  3. He drinks water all day long.  My boyfriend probably drinks a gallon of water a day!  He is always hydrated, always has his water bottle with him at work, at his desk, and at the dinner table.  I have never seen him drink anything other than milk in his cereal when at home and the occasional beer when we are out.  Then there is me who could live off coffee, bad but true.  So note to self one cup of coffee to every three cups of water.
  4. He does not obsess, worry about food.  He eats at meals, has a snack in the afternoon, and maybe one at night if he is hungry but other than during those meal times I do not think the kid ever thinks or worries about food.  He doesn’t look at websites for something to bake or cook tomorrow or daydream about meals.  Well lets be real, I will always be searching for something new to bake and will always think about food because I truly love it and being creative with it, but I can work on not obsessing over it because really that’s where the hate part of the love hate relationship really comes in for me!

 

So that how I am working on creating a healthier relationship with food. Is it fool proof, hardly. Is it anything we have not been told to do before, of course not? Is it easy…not for me!  Is it a start, yea I think so…

Question- How do you balance your relationship with food to keep a healthy mindset?

10 Responses to “A lesson from the boys”

  1. Melissa @ runscootsrun.blogspot.com July 24, 2012 at 1:42 am #

    I definitely struggle with balancing all of the things you mentioned. If I feel I ate poorly or too much, I then try to make up for it the next meal and/or by working out more…not healthy I know. Your boyfriends habits sound like my husband’s…maybe men have the food relationship better handled than us, lol. Im with ya though…I’m over obsessing over it but I’m a work in progress in finding balance…it’ll come though I’m sure. :) hope you’re enjoying cohabitation!

    • aenoser July 24, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

      Ahh, making up for eating poorly/ too much is something I do all the time! Hate it because it almost always backfires! Good luck with finding balance, something we have to work on every day, well at least I do haha!

  2. Tessa@AmazingAsset (@Tessa8m) July 24, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    I am certainly working on finding that balance… that is in fact my tag line on my blog haha- “continuously striving to find a healthy balance.” I am not there yet, but working toward it each and everyday. I love food too, but am scared of it at the same time, so getting rid of those fears is necessary.

    • aenoser July 24, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

      Balance is so tricky! Your blog is a great example at someone who constantly strives for it, always a great read!

  3. Kate July 24, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    this is exactly what I need to be working on too! I actually spent all night writing a post on it but then it turned out to be just frustrated word-vomit haha. But yeah, I am sooo sick of obsessing! It either leads to me not eating enough and being hungry and biotchy, OR eating when I’m not hungry because “its time for lunch” or whatever. I just want to eat when I’m hungry, not eat when I’m not hungry, and eat what I want when I want it! It’s so simple, yet so difficult when you’ve made food your focus for so long. And yeah, boys seem to pretty much have it down! the last guy I dated in college really did open my eyes to the whole intuitive-eating thing, I definitely need to get back to that on my own!

    • aenoser July 24, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

      Haha, I feel like every time I write a post it turns into word vomit!! I hear you though, figuring out hunger cues is so tough, sometimes I do not even recognize them, which is pretty messed up! Good luck with it and let me know if you find anything that is particularly helpful, so I can try it out!

  4. Keara July 25, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    Great post!! I think you covered my whole perspective on food and your observations are so interesting!!

  5. Eva @ committed2nutrition July 25, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    What a good post. Seems so simple. yet the most simplist of things are often the most difficult to do. This is a great perspecitve and seeing it all written out definitely helps, too. I often find myself eating more just because I know I SHOULD have more, even though I am not hungry. My boyfriend, much like yours, is the same way – if he eats a huge salad for dinner, he stops there. ME? I’m like oh salad for dinner, i’m full, but I want another bowl of cereal, just because I know salad is only xx calories. He will seriously look at me with 10 heads when I say after dinner I am going to eat again (a lot of this is because I also know how much I do need to eat to sustain my work outs, etc).. oh BOYS!! they have it so easy, don’t they ;)

  6. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake July 26, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Love these lessons! All of them are SO true. They sort of remind me of the “rules” in Bethenny Frankel’s first book Naturally Thin… have you read it? It’s all sort of common sense, but it seems we need constant reminders!

  7. Bec July 26, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    This is so relatable. Men really never seem to worry about these things, and if they do, it’s because they are training/trying to put on muscle/lose weight. But most of the time they just eat what they want. We could all learn from that, you’re so right. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

