Trusting your body

20 Jul

My body and mind have a love hate relationship. Meaning when it does and looks mostly how I want, I love it and when it doesn’t often times I hate it.

 

The thing is my body is pretty smart. It knows what it needs, when it needs it, and often the correct doses, the trick is my mind likes to be in control of everything and thinks it should get to decide all the above. Typical examples of this for me, is choosing to eat only at certain times of the day and only having certain quantities, exercising to a specific degree at a specific weekly volume, sleeping ‘x’ amount of hours, avoiding certain food products, or pushing through obvious signs of sickness or injury to participate in activities. As I write this it sounds silly even to me, the one making these choices. Why not just eat when I am hungry? Why workout when my body is begging for rest? Why not just go to bed when I am tired, chances are I will want to wake up earlier anyhow?

I think, as women, myself especially, have fallen into feeling like we have to met a certain standard or expectation. The question is, what happens if we don’t? If I don’t eat three square meals a day with two snacks evenly spaced out or don’t workout for ‘x’ amount of minutes each day what happens? Well, I am quickly coming to see that what actually happens is nothing. No one seems to care, comment, or even notice. It’s funny, I think sometimes I can get so caught up in what I think I should be doing and feeling like someone is keeping tabs when really they are not. I believe I have adopted these expectations from media and society but blame myself for internalizing each. Only I can choose to make or not make these expectations part of my life style, so to help me choose not to, I am making some goals for myself.

1. Eat when I am hungry, period

2. Eat what I am craving

3. Do NOT eat when I am not hungry

4. Stop exercise when in true pain (duh?)

5. Go to bed when I am tired

6. Drink more water 

7. Do not place a time/distance expectation on runs

That is a lot of goals for me! I think 1,3, and 7 are going to be the toughest but have to give it a whirl! 

8 Responses to “Trusting your body”

  1. Melissa @ runscootsrun.blogspot.com July 20, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    Love your blog. I do think society has a lot to do with it but you’re right…it’s ourselves that internalize and feed into it…and for many, obsess about these somewhat trivial things. 1, 3, and 7 are tricky for me too…trying to find that balance!

    • aenoser July 20, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

      ‘Trivial things’ what an awesome way of putting it!!

  2. Kailey July 21, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    I couldn’t agree more with this – our bodies know what they need. It’s dumb to think we know all the inner workings.

    • aenoser July 21, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

      Right? Like some book, diet fad, or internet article knows better than our body. Note to self, my body didn’t read the article that says it must function on protein and veggies alone, so it will probably freak out if you stop feeding it carbs!

  3. Kate July 21, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    I could’t have said this better myself, it’s SO true. Bodies are so smart, if we only listen to them! And sadly, most of us don’t because yeah, we feel as though we have to live up to certain standards…to fit in with other women, to impress men, to be respected….but in reality, what actually gets you places in life is being healthy and confident, and I think the only way to truly get there is to listen up when your body talks! I definitely need to get better about this too – I’m learning, but there’s still a lot of resistance!

    • aenoser July 21, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

      Absolutely, being healthy and confident is what gets you places and makes you stand out in the crowd, not the silly numbers and routines I have been letting rule my body! Like you said though our minds are so powerful and resistant sometimes, makes it tough!

  4. Tessa@AmazingAsset (@Tessa8m) July 21, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    Loveee this, and something I have talked about before too! Trusting your body is so difficult- it’s scary, it feels wrong, and we often grow impatient in the process. our bodies are way smarter than we give them credit for, and they really do know what we need! I am in this process right now, and trusting is all I can do… it’s so hard, but necessary!

  5. runningthewindycity July 22, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    It is hard to trust your body, especially when you think you know what’s best for you. It’s tough and a long journey (I am DEFINITELY not there yet), but it’s something to strive for.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

