Happy vs. Healthy

9 Jul

So, while reading blogs, because in the summer sometimes that’s all I do! I came across this really cool idea from the blog ‘Happy is the new healthy’ where it challenges you to define what happiness looks like for you day-to-day, what healthy looks like to you day-to-day, and then compare and contrast. This is an awesome exercise, so let’s get it started….

HAPPY=

Running 8-10 miles each day

Working on my doctorate of psychology researching cognitive processes and body image in preadolescent females

Eating lots of sweets and drinking unlimited iced coffee

Making dinner with Jay

Feeling confident in my body and clothes, and abs would be nice!!

Hanging out with friends

Not dealing with injuries!

Healthy=

Running less than 40 miles a week and slowing building back from an injury

Not planning out every second of my schooling, taking opportunities I am given and being happy with working on a masters for the moment

Eating protein, drinking less coffee

Being thankful for the time I do get with Jay (especially if we happen to be making dinner!)

Listening to my body

Understanding that health is not defined by looks alone and being grateful for what I have (even if there is a lack of abs!)

Hanging out with friends

Now the fun part, time to compare! 

In both my happy and healthy world, exercise, school, and my relationships  are all definitely  priorities, just at different amounts and with different emphasises. Doing this exercise reminds me that I need to continue to work on not being such a control freak and that sometimes planning every second of your life isn’t possible as well as not worthwhile. Accepting where I am now is a tough thing for me! I want to be running a million miles, studying at a prestigious school, and want my boyfriend within an hour drive, which right now none of those things are possible. But you know what, that’s ok! I have to learn to accept where I am now, live in the present, and make  the best of the situation I am in, because you know what, it’s not that bad! Actually, it decent! I get to start school in the fall working on my masters, which is a step in the right direction, I am slowing coming back from an injury and am able to run some, and I have a boyfriend of 4 years who would do anything for me. Yep, life is pretty good, so let go of feeling like you must have a flat stomach, plan everything, and lay off the coffee a little would you!!

 

3 Responses to “Happy vs. Healthy”

  1. Kate July 9, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    this is fantastic! I love how you come to the conclusion that while what we think we want and what’s right/healthy don’t always match up, we always have to appreciate what IS good in life! And dude, getting a masters is a great start! it’ll make getting into a Ph.D program that much easier :)

  2. Melissa @ runscootsrun.blogspot.com July 15, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    Just stumbled onto ur blog from janae’s…I love this post…made me realize I have to think about balancing the healthy and happy!

    • aenoser July 16, 2012 at 1:55 am #

      Love Janae’s blog! Glad you enjoyed reading, balancing life can be so tough sometimes, I have to constantly keep myself in check!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

