What do you do for YOU?

2 Jul

Today I wanted to talk about the things I do that make me feel good about me. I think there are so many things in society we as women do because we are expected or are suppose to do. We workout so we can look good in a swimsuit, we read “classics,” New York Best Sellers, or CNN because we want to keep up with the world, we cook dinner because even in today’s society it is often an expectation of most women/mothers, or do countless other things because it is considered the standard. Now there is absolutely nothing wrong with doing any of these things, in fact I take part in most and some truly because I love them however, as I was think of each of these things I challenge myself by asking which of these things would I take part in if I didn’t feel I should or I was expected to. Also, if any of these activities would look different if there was no hidden expectation behind them. So here is what I came up with

1. Run- I would run no matter what. No questions! I started running in high school, ran for a couple of years in college, and have never stopped. My high school coach actually use to call me the energizer bunny because I just love moving around. However, recently I have been battling a number of injuries and have not been able to run consistently for quite some time, which has led to me working out in different ways to stay in shape (exercise machines, lifting weights, blah blah) What I have come to realize though is I actually do not really like working out, really I just like running. I am not that girl who wants to do a tri, take every workout class, or even run races and you know what that’s ok. I don’t have to be a fitness buff, workout a certain number of minutes everyday, or pretend I like zumba because I don’t. I do have to take care of my body, fuel it, and make sure I get some movement in each day, until I can run again.

Source: via Chrissy on Pinterest

2. Bake- Love it. Love making desserts, cakes, pies, you name it. I like trying to make food look pretty and enjoy sharing it with others. I think I enjoy baking so much because I have a crazy sweet tooth and would take a cookie over a chip any day of the week so subconsciously I bake for others thinking it will bring cheer to their day as well. Whether it does or not who knows. Cooking on the other hand, not something I would choose to do everyday. I don’t mind it but really I could take it or leave it. When my boyfriend asks what do you want for dinner I often respond with grocery store salad bar? haha he is learning to no longer ask the question!

3. Reading short articles and blogs- Love a good blog entry, especially ones that often have a lot of thought put into them or are especially straight forward and honest (healthytippingpoint.com or runeatrepeat.com are a few favorites!). Love a good research article on a topic I care about (i.e. health, body image, women’s issues) but get bored with books, articles about celebrities, or constant political bickering.

4. Showering and dry hair- Lets get something straight, I hate getting ready. I hate the idea of dressing up everyday, putting on makeup, and I really hate doing my hair. Hate it! If I could have one magical power it would be that as soon as I stepped out of the shower my hair was dry and straight ( I have curly nappy hair, it’s gross). However, I loveeee showering, something about standing in warm water at the end of the day ( I always shower at night!) is just so relaxing!

So your turn, what are things you do just for you?

7 Responses to “What do you do for YOU?”

  1. Kate @ Work in Progress July 3, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    I’m also the same way about running!! I do love to compete, but no other form of workout really makes me happy. I just do it so that getting back to running after an injury doesn’t suck so much haha :-) I also love to relax and the end of the day with a mug of tea and a magazine or blogs!

  2. Haley @ Health Freak College Girl July 5, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Bakinggg! Totally something I love to do for some me time. I also really like to go on hikes or hang out outside :)

    • aenoser July 5, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      Oww hiking! My boyfriend just moved to Tennessee and we went hiking in the smoky mts, it was tough! Any suggestions on a good recipe to bake? I am a chocolate addict!!

  3. Kailey July 6, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    I know for a fact that I hate working out unless it is running. I just can’t motivate myself to get on a machine :\ Hope you get better soon :)

  4. runningthewindycity July 10, 2012 at 12:30 am #

    I’d run no matter what! I just love to move and while I started doing it as a way to stay in shape, working out (running, swimming, biking) have become so much more to me. They’re part of my lifestyle now!

    I also love baking and reading. Nothing relaxes me after a long day like baking something or reading a good book!

    • aenoser July 10, 2012 at 2:03 am #

      Never thought about it like that but your absolutely right, running has become part of my lifestyle as well!

  5. Eva @ committed2nutrition July 23, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    Love this post!! The one thing I do JUST FOR ME… teaching Zumba. That has been the biggest passion in my life.. so cheesy, but I live and breathe for it. It took me a while to get the courage to get certified etc., but it’s truly the one thing I could never and will never give up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

